Day 7 – 30 for 30 Challenge – one week update


Today marks the 7th post in the 30 for 30 challenge, and as such a week into this experiment in endurance and creativity. Being that I made two posts yesterday, one of which I would consider my “post for the New Year”, I’m going to keep today’s post short and recap my thoughts about the first week.

Here are some thoughts about the first week:

* Writing is hard to get into, but once you start and get going on something, it’s one of the most rewarding feelings.

* Starting to write about one topic often leads into ideas for other topics.  The very act of putting words to paper (or digital screen) seems to act as its own form of inspiration.  This feels like the Do Something Principal in action.

* At least half of my first seven posts have started off being about one thing, only to morph into something else by the end. Kind of neat how the mind takes unexpected turns, and realizes how what I REALLY am trying to say is “X”, not “Y” like originally thought.

* Writing is therapeutic. A couple of times I have felt anxious at the start of my writing session, only to feel calm and accomplished at the end.

* Writing has made me more curious. The more I write about various things, the more I want to know more about other things. Curiosity booster!

* One week into the experiment, and I am a little less anxious than at the start of the week.  Yes, I still have a long way to go to reach 30 posts in 30 days, but the process seems less daunting now than it did at first. I have no idea what I’m going to write about past tomorrow, but for some reason I’m okay with that because I’m more confident that something will come to me.

Since this is a short post, I want to close with a great little aside that I read recently on the blog The Politics of Writing where the author shares some really great writing advice from the author John Steinbeck.

Author: Zack Hayhurst

New Yorker enthusiast, cartoon caption contest contender, book hoarder, cultural omnivore, writer

Tell me what you think

